How Old Do You Have To Be To Get Tattoos

How Old Do You Have To Be To Get Tattoos, this is a question every teenager is curious about and wants to know the answer to desperately. To get a tattoo, age matters area-wise as different areas have rules and regulations for tattoo getting on the body. 18 years and 16 years are mostly the minimum age for tattooing but here you will find the detailed rules for country and state-wise.

What is Tattoo and how is it made?

A tattoo is a design or mark which is made on the upper layer of the skin through pricks filled with pigments. Tattoo artists use a small hand-held machine to make Tattoos

  1. There are one or more needles in the machine that pierce the top layer of skin and make a design.
  2. It is a painful process so if you want to get a tattoo your age should be 18 years or above.

In this article, we will tell you about the rules and regulations of some states and countries for getting a tattoo, as well as its healing process, precautions, side effects, and so on:

The healing process and precautions of Tattoos:

It may take a few weeks to heel a tattoo site. You have to be careful after getting a tattoo. 

  • Apply antibiotic ointments and Vaseline regularly. Make sure to apply them at least twice a day. 
  • You don’t need to avoid water totally but make sure to dry gently your tattoo area. After taking a shower pet dry the tattoo site and apply vaseline and ointment again on it. 
  • Avoid soaking the tattoo area in the water for a long time and also avoid taking long showers until it heals properly. 

Rules of some countries about age for getting Tattoos:

There are different rules in different countries regarding the age to get a tattoo on the body. Here are the following countries having rules with specific terms and conditions.

  • United Kingdom:

In the united kingdom, minors under 18 years can’t get a tattoo, and an artist who tattooed a minor will be fined and prosecuted as well. If you’re from the United Kingdom and want to get a tattoo you need to provide age verification to tattoo shops. 

  • Australia:

You will not be able to get a tattoo in Australia if you’re under 18. Even if you have parental consent and your age is not 18 or above they will not allow you to get a tattoo. 

In Western Australia, it is the opposite. There you can get a tattoo easily if you’re 16 years old.

  • Canada:

Tattooing laws are different in different provinces of Canada.

  • Alberta: There is no law about the age for getting a tattoo in Alberta, but they recommend that if a minor want to get a tattoo minimum age should be 18 because getting a tattoo can be painful.
  • Ontario:  Minors under 18 can get a tattoo only if they have Parental consent. 
  • Quebec: Many tattoo shops and tattoo artists allow a minor to get a tattoo if he or she is 17-18 years old.

Rules and regulations of some states of the USA for tattoo making:

Rules and laws of some states are given below:

  • California: In California, tattooing a minor is totally prohibited.
  • Alabama: Minors can be tattooed if they have parental consent.
  • Colorado: it’s the same as Alabama, the minor can get a tattoo if he has parental consent.
  • Arizona: If you want to get tattooed in Arizona, your parents must be present there with you, that’s the rule.
  • Alaska: In Alaska, minors can’t get Tattoos even if they have parental consent, because Tattoos are totally prohibited for minors in Alaska. 
  • Delaware: Parental consent is necessary for minors to get Tattoos.
  • Georgia: In Georgia, minors are allowed to get Tattoos but only by a licensed tattoo artist or under their supervision.
  • D.C.: Minors are not allowed to get Tattoos.
  • Hawaii: Minors can be tattooed if they have parental consent. Parental consent will be kept safe as records for two years.
  • Lowa: Minors are not allowed to get Tattoos unless they’re married.
  • Kentucky: Parental consent is necessary for minors to get Tattoos.
  • Maine: Minors are not allowed to get tattooed and tattooing minors is illegal.
  • Montana: Minors must have parental consent for getting Tattoos.
  • New York: Minors are not allowed to get Tattoos. If an artist tattooed a minor he will be punished with a class B misdemeanor.
  • Vermont: Minors need parental consent to get Tattoos.
  • Wyoming: Parental consent and the presence of parents, both are necessary for minors to get tattooed.

Side effects of Tattoos:

Side effects of Tattoos can occur if the tattooed area is still healing.

  1. Skin infection.
  2. Permanent scars.
  3. It may cause Allergic reactions.
  4. May cause complications with MRI scans.
  5. Tattoos can hide skin cancer.
  6. Phosphorus in inks and dyes can cause burning and rashes on the skin.
  7. Some people may feel  Nausea, pain, irritation, itching, bleeding, scars, redness, and inflammation.


Rules and regulations about the age for getting Tattoos are different in different states and countries. If you want to get a tattoo you need to search for the rules and laws of the country and state where you’re planning to get tattooed. Most countries don’t allow minors to get Tattoos and require special permission from parents.


Q: Can you have a Tattoo at 16?

It is possible to get a Tattoo at 16 in some states if you have parental consent. But in some states and countries, it is illegal.

Q: Can I get a tattoo at 14 in Canada?

No, you can not get tattooed at 14 in Canada.

Q: Is it painful to get a Tattoo?

Tattoos are made with sharp needles filled with pigments on the upper layer of your skin. It is a painful process because a needle is repeatedly piercing your skin.

Q: In what country can I get a Tattoo at 16?

  • Netherlands 
  • Ireland
  • Poland
  • France 
  • Lithuania
  • Austria 

Q: Do Tattoos bleed?

Yes, it is normal to bleed after getting Tattoos because it involves piercing of top layer of skin with needles. 

Q: Are tattoos Haram in Islam?

Tattoos are Haram in Islam. Haram means forbidden in Islam. If you’re a Muslim and have Tattooed on your skin, you can’t complete Wudu. Wudu is a purification ritual.

Q: Can I drink after a tattoo?

 You should not drink for at least 48 hours after getting a Tattoo.

Nemrah Farooq. I am a content writer. I love to get interesting stories and write about them. I have covered a wide range of topics including Tech, CBD, Cryptocurrency, Business, Lifestyle, News and Entertainment.

Leave a Comment